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OVERVIEW 
The Nursing Facility Training Grant Program was established pursuant to Rhode Island General 
Law § 23-17.5-36 and is designed to help licensed nursing facilities provide enhanced healthcare 
training for employees. The program is intended to support behavioral health care, dementia care, 
and/or training(s) that otherwise improve quality of care for patients/residents with cognitive 
impairments.    
 

The program is administered by the Governor’s Workforce Board (GWB) at the Rhode Island 
Department of Labor and Training and provides a 100% cost reimbursement for eligible costs on 
eligible training activities.   
 

Licensed nursing facilities that meet the eligibility requirements outlined in this guide may apply.  
 
KEY TERMS  
For the purposes of this program the following definition applies:  

 

• Nursing Facility (also referred to as the Employer) — Nursing facilities licensed by the Rhode 
Island Department of Health and subject to compliance with the minimum staffing 
requirements of Rhode Island General Laws § 23-17.5-32.    

 
ELIGIBLE NURSING FACILITIES 
Licensed nursing facilities must meet seven (7) eligibility requirements to participate in the 
program:  

 

1) Classified as a for-profit or private non-profit entity doing business in Rhode Island. 
 

2) In good standing with the Rhode Island Division of Taxation, all divisions of the Rhode Island 
Department of Labor and Training, and not prohibited from contracting with an agency that 
administers federal funds. 

 

3) Staff retention is above the statewide median and the facility is compliant with the minimum 
staffing requirements outlined in Rhode Island General Laws § 23-17.5-32 

 

4) The hourly wage rate paid to the employees to be trained is currently $15.00 per hour or more.  
 

5) Facilities with organized staff have communicated with the appropriate collective bargaining 
unit representatives and followed all relevant protocols established in bargained agreements. 

 

6) In compliance with COVID-related regulations and protocols issued by the Rhode Island 
Department of Health and the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

 

7) Registered in the Ocean State Procures system (‘OSP’). If the employer is not currently 
registered with OSP, registration must be completed and approved prior to applying for 
Nursing Facility Training Grants.   

 

 NOTE: Ocean State Procures is a NEW supplier management system. Accounts did not 
automatically transfer from the previous RIFANS system so applicants must register with 
Ocean State Procures even if they had a previous RIFANS registration.      

Please visit the Vendor Self Registration Guide or click here to be directed to the OSP application. 
For assistance, please contact WebProcure.Support@perfect.com or call 1(866)889-8533. 

 

https://www.ridop.ri.gov/documents/vendor-self-registration-quick-start-guide.pdf
https://www.ridop.ri.gov/vendor-registration/
mailto:WebProcure.Support@perfect.com
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REIMBURSEMENT RATES & PROGRAM CAPS 
Licensed nursing facilities that meet the eligibility criteria outlined above may receive 100% cost 
reimbursement for eligible costs on eligible training activities (up to $30,000 per calendar year).  
 

Multiple training grants may be awarded to a facility until the $30,000 program cap is reached.  
 

Nursing facilities (employers) with more than one location in Rhode Island may be treated as 
either one employer or separate employers depending on the Federal Employer Identification 
Number(s) (FEINs). Employers with locations operating under different FEINs will be considered 
separate entities and each location may submit its own application(s). Employers with more than 
one location operating under a single FEIN are considered one entity. 
 

Reimbursable training dollars are capped at a per-trainee, per year amount of $5,000. 
 
ELIGIBLE TRAINING 
Nursing facilities may utilize this program to provide enhanced healthcare training for employees. 
Training(s) should provide employees with competencies above the baseline skillsets (i.e., not pre-
employment training or basic onboarding). The program is intended to support behavioral health 
care, dementia care, and/or training(s) that otherwise improve quality of care for 
patients/residents with cognitive impairments. Employers are encouraged to work with 
community-based organizations and training funds that offer relevant training programs. 
 

Employers may NOT utilize this program to provide training to personnel hired as independent 
contractors under a 1099.   
 
ELIGIBLE COSTS 
Costs eligible for reimbursement include:  

• Tuition and fees for college courses 
• Trainers/Instructors (or training provider fees) 
• Conference registration fees 
• Training materials and supplies 
• Software or subscriptions (if directly related to training and used exclusively for training)  
• Curriculum development (if necessary) 
• Staff and other administrative costs related to development or delivery of training (up to 

10% of total requested funds) 
 

The following costs are NOT reimbursable:   
• Employee wages 
• Employee mileage (or other travel costs) 
• Hotel/accommodation costs 
• Grant preparation or administration costs 
• Food and beverage 
• Equipment (including hardware and software) that is not exclusively for training  
• Trainings/conferences outside of the U.S. or with non-U.S. based providers 
• Costs being reimbursed through Medicaid, Medicare or ARPA/CARES Act funding 

 

NOTE: Reimbursable training dollars are capped at $5,000 per-trainee/per year.  
 
APPLICATION PROCESS  
Before training begins, an application must be submitted by the nursing facility (employer) and 
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approved by GWB staff. The Nursing Facility Training Grant application is available online at 
www.gwb.ri.gov and can be submitted at any time. Applications are currently accepted online only.  
 

When an application is successfully submitted, the applicant will receive an email confirmation. 
This is the employer’s receipt and counts as proof that the application was submitted. If you do 
not receive an email confirmation after applying, please contact the GWB within 24 hours for 
assistance.  
 

Applications are typically processed within seven (7) days of receipt. Each submission is reviewed 
by GWB staff for accuracy and to determine eligibility. If any issues are identified in the 
application, the point of contact listed on the application will be notified. 
 

Employers should submit one (1) application for each unique training activity.  
 
AWARD PROCESS  
After an application is reviewed and approved, the employer will receive a contract for review and 
signature. Once signed by both the employer and the GWB, the employer will receive a copy of the 
contract. A copy of the contract will also be sent to the Rhode Island Department of Administration 
so a Purchase Order1 can be issued to the employer.  
 

The GWB cannot provide reimbursement for any training costs incurred prior to the start date on 
the contract and Purchase Order.  
 
APPLICATION DENIALS  
Applications will be denied if the information provided by the employer is deemed to be inaccurate 
or if the request does not meet the eligibility criteria outlined in this guide. Employers will be 
notified via e-mail if their application is denied. The e-mail will contain the reason for the denial 
and instructions for filing an appeal.      
 
APPEAL PROCESS FOR DENIED APPLICATIONS  
Denied applications may be appealed by writing to the Executive Director of the Governor’s 
Workforce Board within two weeks (10 business days) of the notification of denial. Appeals may 
be sent via mail or via e-mail to dlt.gwbinfo@dlt.ri.gov and addressed to:  

 

Executive Director 
Governor’s Workforce Board 

Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training 
1511 Pontiac Avenue, Building 73-1 

Cranston, RI 02920 
 

The appeal must include the name and contact information for the employer representative 
(please include a mailing address and phone number) and a description of the issue.   

 

The Executive Director will issue a decision within ten (10) business days of receiving the appeal.  
 
REIMBURSEMENT PROCESS 
All payments in the Nursing Facility Training Grant Program are made on a cost reimbursement 
basis in which the employer pays the training costs up front and requests reimbursement at the 

 
1 A Purchase Order is a document that formalizes a transaction with a vendor.  

http://www.gwb.ri.gov/
mailto:dlt.gwbinfo@dlt.ri.gov
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conclusion of the contract performance period. At the conclusion of the contract performance 
period, the employer is required to submit the Nursing Facility Training Grant Request for 
Reimbursement Form and evidence of completed training and costs incurred to 
dlt.invoice@dlt.ri.gov within 60 days.  
 

If proper documentation is not received within 60 days of the conclusion of the contract 
performance period, the reimbursement will not be processed, and the contract will be closed. 

 

The following items are required to request reimbursement: 
 

1. Nursing Facility Training Grant Request for Reimbursement Form  
 

At the time of award, employers will receive a copy of the Nursing Facility Training Grant 
Request for Reimbursement Form. It may also be downloaded from the GWB website 
www.gwb.ri.gov.   
The form must be completed with the following information:   

• Contract Number 
• Employer Name 
• Training Name 
• Total Funding Utilized 
• Employer Signature 
 

2. Supporting Documentation (Evidence of Completed Training and Costs Incurred)  
 

The following types of documents may be submitted as verification of completed training: 
• Final Transcript(s) or Certificate(s) of Completion 
• Training Sign-in Sheets 
• Completion Reports  
• Post-Training Vendor E-mails 

 

Training Type 
Acceptable Documentation 

Final Course 
Transcript 

Certificate of 
Completion 

Sign-in 
Sheets 

Confirmation 
of Travel* 

Post-Training 
Vendor E-mail 

Completion 
Report 

Completion 
Page Printout 

Tuition √ √           

Live Training Event   √ √ √ √     

Online Course √ √       √ √ 
Training Webinar     √   √     

Conference       √ √     

On-Site Training   √ √   √     

*Travel is not reimbursable, but validates attendance  
 

The following types of documents may be submitted as verification of costs incurred:   
• Itemized invoices from training vendors accompanied by copies of processed checks   

mailto:dlt.invoice@dlt.ri.gov
http://www.gwb.ri.gov/
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• Itemized receipts with dates 
 

NOTE: Supporting documents must identify the dates that training occurred/costs were 
incurred.  
 

If any of the above items are not present or are incorrect, the Governor’s Workforce Board will 
deny the request for payment and outline the reason for denial. The Employer will have ten (10) 
business days to rectify any issues and resubmit for payment.  
 
CHECKING REIMBURSEMENT STATUS  
Payments will be issued within 30 days of receipt of the Request for Reimbursement Form and 
supporting documentation. Employers may check RIPAY for detailed payment information.  
 
TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE  
GWB Staff is available to provide technical assistance throughout the entire grant process. For 
assistance, please call (401) 462-8860 or e-mail dlt.gwbinfo@dlt.ri.gov.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.ripay.ri.gov/
mailto:dlt.gwbinfo@dlt.ri.gov
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